"Although Reiki is not a religion, it helped me to become more spiritual and connected"

About Reiki

The system of Reiki (pronounced "Ray-Key") was developed by a Japanese man named Mikao Usui in the early 1900's. Reiki is a Japanese word. REI means "universal" and KI is "energy". It's also often translated as the "Universal Life Force".

Reiki is thought to be beneficial for the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual aspects of life. Click here to read about the benefits of Reiki.

In the most common method of Reiki, the Reiki practitioner uses a set of hand positions allowing the energy to flow through the practitioner to the receiver. In order to become a practitioner a person receives an attunement performed by a Reiki teacher or "master". A Reiki attunement (or empowerment) is a simple ceremony that allows the practitioner to connect to the universal energy.

Additionally, Reiki has five principles to live by:

"Just for today do not worry, do not anger.
 Be grateful and humble.
 Do your work with appreciation.
 Be kind to all."

There are three levels in Reiki:

In level one, you learn about the history and principles of Reiki, the hand positions for treating yourself and others and receive your first attunement.

In level two, you learn the three Reiki symbols, distance healing and receive your second attunement.

In level three, you learn the Reiki master symbol, the attunement process, how to teach, and receive the master attunement.

If you are interested learning more about Reiki click on the class schedule



  © LivingReiki.com 2002; all rights reserved.